The Launch!

Launch Invite

You are invited to the launch of We Will Not Go Quietly: a zine by survivors of sexual violence, for survivors of sexual violence.

When: Wednesday 20 February 2013 (World Social Justice Day)
From 6.30 pm (for a 7pm start) – 8pm

Where: Hares & Hyenas, 63 Johnston Street, Fitzroy

RSVP to Kate or Matt at wewillnotgoquietlyzine_at_gmail.com by 11 February 2013

2 responses to “The Launch!

  1. Robert James Conlon

    SCREAMING AGAIN

    There are echoes
    Echoes, echoes
    That never vanish.

    I’m screaming again
    I’m screaming but no one hears
    Screaming without a voice to plea
    Just screaming because my death is real
    And I’m screaming again

    As the shame bleeds from my anus down my legs
    The child that is me
    Forever dead
    But, can I laugh
    I wish
    But, can I cry
    I wish
    But, can I love
    I wish
    And I’m screaming again

    As I stagger raped by the cloth
    Butchered by my father
    My head shoved into the pillow
    Body swallowed
    Just a buggered pig on a quilt
    And I’m screaming again

    1

    SCREAMING

    Fuck you as you fuck me with understanding
    I’m damning my life to physical isolation
    God, are you, am I, just a fucken cunt
    Affectionate responses trying to help
    Caring, needing, but you must not touch
    Because friend the specter pain might come again
    And I’m screaming again

    Staring all the way back
    Sexuality feeds my ongoing self-hate
    Free me, someone from these chains
    Sex is sorrow, gender in doubt
    All these hurts tied to needs trapped inside
    I’ve got to escape, somehow from the past
    To where the mirrors reflect a better life
    Will someone help me, please
    Burn away, this misery
    Called my childhood
    And I’m screaming again

    There are echoes
    Echoes, echoes
    That never vanish.

    2
    ROBERT JAMES CONLON
    robertjamesconlon@iprimus.com.au

Leave a Reply

